Bakhshali manuscript: the first record of the use of zero is 500 years earlier than thought

Bakhshali manuscript: the first record of the use of zero is 500 years earlier than thought


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The concept and associated value of mathematical symbol "zero" It is used throughout the world as a fundamental numerical pillar. However, its origin has so far been one of the greatest enigmas in the field.

Scientists from the Bodleian Library of the University of Oxford have used carbon dating to trace the origins of the figure in an ancient Indian manuscript: the Bakhshali manuscript.

The text dates back to the 3rd century, making it the oldest recorded use of this symbol.

The research was requested from the Bodleian Library, where the manuscript has been found since 1902. Its importance lies in the use of hundreds of zeros and this finding marks the birth of the "zero" 500 years earlier than previously thought.

The zero symbol.

The concept of the symbol as we know it now began with a simple period that was widely used as a «position marker»To represent orders of magnitude in the ancient Indian number system.

The first recorded example of the use of zero was, until now, in an inscription from the 9th century on the wall of a temple in Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh.

Although a number of ancient cultures, including the ancient Mayans or BabyloniansThey also used the zero placeholder, the use of the period in the Bakhshali Manuscript is the one that eventually evolved into the symbol we use today.

[Tweet "The use of the period in the Bakhshali Manuscript is what eventually evolved into the current symbol" zero "]

India is also the place where the symbolic placeholder became a number in its own right and the concept of the number zero as it exists today was born.

Marcus du sautoy, professor of mathematics at the University of Oxford, said: 'Today we take it for granted that the concept of zero is used all over the world and is a key element in the digital world. But the creation of zero as a number in its own right, which evolved from the point symbol found in the Bakhshali Manuscript, was one of the greatest advances in the history of mathematics«.

«We now know that as early as the third century, Indian mathematicians planted the seed of the idea that would later become so fundamental to the modern world. Findings show just how vibrant mathematics has been on the Indian subcontinent for centuries«He added.

Bakhshali Manuscript find.

The Bakhshali manuscript It was found in 1881, buried in a field in what was then an Indian village called Bakshali, now in Pakistan. It is widely known as the oldest Indian mathematical text although the exact age of the text has been in dispute for years.

The most conclusive academic study on the subject was carried out by the Dr. Hayashi Takao and, on the basis of factors such as writing style and literary and mathematical content, he claimed that it probably dated to between the 8th and 12th centuries.

The new carbon dating reveals why it was so difficult to date the manuscript: it has 70 very fragile birch bark pages, and is made up of material from at least three different periods.

After studying History at the University and after many previous tests, Red Historia was born, a project that emerged as a means of dissemination where you can find the most important news of archeology, history and humanities, as well as articles of interest, curiosities and much more. In short, a meeting point for everyone where they can share information and continue learning.


Video: Who Invented The Zero


Comments:

  1. Willaburh

    Sorry for interfering ... I understand this issue. You can discuss.

  2. Creighton

    I think is missing.

  3. Yunus

    I think, that you are mistaken. Let's discuss. Write to me in PM, we will talk.

  4. Hebron

    I apologize, but in my opinion you are wrong. Enter we'll discuss it. Write to me in PM, we will handle it.



Write a message

Bakhshali-Manuskript: Die erste Aufzeichnung über die Verwendung von Null ist 500 Jahre früher als gedacht

Bakhshali-Manuskript: Die erste Aufzeichnung über die Verwendung von Null ist 500 Jahre früher als gedacht

Das Konzept und der damit verbundene Wert von mathematisches Symbol "Null" Es wird weltweit als grundlegende numerische Säule verwendet. Sein Ursprung war jedoch bisher eines der größten Rätsel auf diesem Gebiet.

Wissenschaftler der Bodleian Library der Universität Oxford haben Kohlenstoffdatierungen verwendet, um die Ursprünge der Figur in einem alten indischen Manuskript zu verfolgen: dem Bakhshali-Manuskript.

Der Text stammt aus dem 3. JahrhundertDamit ist es die älteste aufgezeichnete Verwendung dieses Symbols.

Die Forschung wurde von der Bodleian Library angefordert, wo das Manuskript seit 1902 gefunden wurde. Seine Bedeutung liegt in der Verwendung von Hunderten von Nullen und Dieser Befund markiert die Geburt der "Null" 500 Jahre zuvor als bisher gedacht.

Das Nullsymbol.

Das Konzept des Symbols, wie wir es kennen, begann nun mit einer einfachen Periode, die weithin als «verwendet wurde.Positionsmarkierung»Größenordnungen im alten indischen Zahlensystem darstellen.

Das erste aufgezeichnete Beispiel für die Verwendung von Null war bisher in eine Inschrift aus dem 9. Jahrhundert an der Wand eines Tempels in Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh.

Obwohl eine Reihe von alten Kulturen, darunter die alte Mayas oder BabylonierSie verwendeten auch den Null-Platzhalter. Die Verwendung des Punktes im Bakhshali-Manuskript hat sich schließlich zu dem Symbol entwickelt, das wir heute verwenden.

[Tweet "Die Verwendung des Punktes im Bakhshali-Manuskript hat sich schließlich zum aktuellen Symbol" Null "entwickelt.]

Indien ist auch der Ort, an dem der symbolische Platzhalter steht wurde eine eigenständige Nummer und das Konzept der Zahl Null, wie es heute existiert, wurde geboren.

Marcus du sautoy, Professor für Mathematik an der Universität von Oxford, sagte: 'Heute gehen wir davon aus, dass das Konzept der Null weltweit verwendet wird und ein Schlüsselelement in der digitalen Welt ist. Aber die Schaffung von Null als eigenständige Zahl, die sich aus dem im Bakhshali-Manuskript gefundenen Punktsymbol entwickelte, war einer der größten Fortschritte in der Geschichte der Mathematik«.

«Wir wissen jetzt, dass indische Mathematiker bereits im dritten Jahrhundert den Keim für die Idee gelegt haben, die später für die moderne Welt so grundlegend werden sollte. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, wie lebendig die Mathematik auf dem indischen Subkontinent seit Jahrhunderten ist"Er fügte hinzu.

Bakhshali Manuskript finden.

Das Bakhshali-Manuskript Es wurde 1881 gefunden und auf einem Feld in einem damaligen indischen Dorf namens Bakshali in Pakistan begraben. Es ist weithin als ältester indischer mathematischer Text bekannt, obwohl das genaue Alter des Textes seit Jahren umstritten ist.

Die schlüssigste akademische Studie zu diesem Thema wurde von der Dr. Hayashi Takao und auf der Grundlage von Faktoren wie Schreibstil und literarischem und mathematischem Inhalt behauptete er, dass es wahrscheinlich zwischen dem 8. und 12. Jahrhundert datiert.

Die neue Kohlenstoffdatierung zeigt, warum es so schwierig war, das Manuskript zu datieren: Es hat 70 sehr zerbrechliche Birkenrindenseiten und besteht aus Material aus mindestens drei verschiedenen Perioden.

Nach dem Studium der Geschichte an der Universität und nach vielen früheren Tests wurde Red Historia geboren, ein Projekt, das als Mittel zur Verbreitung entstanden ist und in dem Sie die wichtigsten Nachrichten aus den Bereichen Archäologie, Geschichte und Geisteswissenschaften sowie Artikel von Interesse, Kuriositäten und vielem mehr finden. Kurz gesagt, ein Treffpunkt für alle, an dem sie Informationen austauschen und weiter lernen können.


Video: 100 Jahre - Chronik - 1927 - Der erste Ozeanflug